Journey to Excellence



The 4MAT model is a system that provides a basis for understanding the core elements of learning. It presents learning as a natural cycle, capitalizing on the strengths of the four major learning styles identified by researchers: Connection to Personal Experience, Development of Conceptual Understanding, Guided Practice and Application, and Creation Leading to Learner Synthesis and Integration.


4MAT encourages educators to consider not only what students learn, but how and why they learn.


4MAT Trainer's Room
4MAT Unit Plans
About Learning Inc
Learning Styles and the 4MAT System: A Cycle of Learning

More Learning Style/4MAT Resources on CIRCLE

WARNING: Teachers are responsible to ensure that materials selected for use reflect Seventh-day Adventist philosophy.

NAD Education   Copyright © 2004-2008 North American Division Office of Education   SDA Church